Detroit Half Marathon

Last spring, my girlfriend asked me I wanted to run the Detroit Half Marathon with her.  “Sure,” I said.  I’d been hiking lots, but the last time I had actually run was probably around tenth grade.  So I got a pair of running shoes and started at it.

Yesterday, I finished the half marathon with a time of 2 hours and 18 minutes.  It was a lot of fun.  I got to run over the Ambassador Bridge and back through the tunnel.  People cheering along the way were great to see.  It was also great just being part of 20,000 people running for the half marathon, the full marathon, relays, or whatever else was going on.  Going in I had planned to walk for bits, but early on I was afraid I wouldn’t start running again, so I didn’t walk.  Latter on, I just didn’t want to stop. 

Today, the day after, my legs are sore, I’ve got blisters and chaffing, but I’ve also got not just the medal I received for finishing the race, but also the sense of accomplishment that goes along with it.

Leave a Reply

