Hat in the Ring

Today I met with my career counselor to go over my resume.  She had announced that if any 1L’s were interested in applying for summer associate positions at large firms, we should come see her.  So, sitting in her office, I said let’s talk about that.  She said, because of my work experience, I’ve got a chance.

At this point, I should add that my career counselor also said that, traditionally, large firms hire very few law students after just their first year.  She then added that in the current economic state of affairs, even fewer are doing so.  And that’s if I can match up a firm that would look kindly on my construction management work experience.  So I’ve got a pretty slim chance at a pretty small opportunity.

Still, I’ll take that.  I know it’s probably going to be to no avail, but it’s easy enough to research firms to find ones who practice construction law and send off a few cover letters and resumes.  Deadline is December 1.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

