What Next for the Big Ten?

The Big Ten has new division names and branding.  I’ll be honest, I just don’t know about this.  Legends and Leaders.  Wow.  I’ve been turning over in my mind, over and over again.  Every time I start to come around and think, “This really isn’t so horrible,” I snap back thinking, “Yes it is.”  Maybe they’re the sort of thing that needs to be grown in to.  They’re definitely different, maybe cutting edge, and maybe in a few years we’ll all look back and think how innovative and cutting edge the name are.  Right now it feels like the idea that the Big Ten is a group of college athletic teams that compete against each other, or event that it’s a collection of academic institutions educating and doing research has been lost in the idea of the Big Ten as… something.  Something about legends and leaders. 

The logo bugs me too.  When I look at it, I feel like I’m looking at one of those squinty eye pictures where it’s supposed to be three dimensional. Except I could never get those to work right.  I know what’s trying to be done with it, but I just don’t see it very well.  I liked the old logo. 

I’ve read some comments that the G/0 looks like a 6, which makes me wonder if this is some master plan for the logo to still be valid if the conference grows to 16 teams.

With each new step and announcement, I’ve started regretting how the addition of Nebraska to the Big Ten is being handled.  I have no problem with Nebraska being added.  I liked the division makeup originally, but I have started to sour on it.  The division names have lost me.  More and more I’m wishing there was just an east division with Indiana, Ohio State, Michigan, Michigan State, Penn State, and Purdue, and a west division with Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, and Wisconsin.  Sure, the east would have three of the strongest traditional teams in Ohio State, Michigan, and Penn State, and the west would only have one in Nebraska.  But I really think that would have worked out in the end.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

