“The Catcher in the Rye”

Having first read the book in tenth grade, I decided to reread “The Catcher in the Rye.”  The first time through I don’t remember being that wowed by it.  Fourteen years later, I got it a little bit more.  Holden is unapologetic.  He’s searching for something.  He can’t stand phonies.  I can understand that, but at the same time he never seems to get anywhere.  It’s like the book keeps plodding along and then just ends more or less cold.  Maybe I was too naive in tenth grade to fully appreciate it and maybe I’m too old now to really connect with it.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

